Summer Institute 2018

 Summer Institute is designed for secondary school counselors and college admission counselors with two or fewer years of experience. The integrated program fosters a deeper understanding of the interaction between secondary school counselors and admission counselors, as well as expert insight into the current trends and issues within the profession. Participants will benefit from the opportunity to connect and interact with experienced faculty members from high schools and colleges from throughout New England. Through small mentor group discussions, program-specific curriculum tracks for secondary school counselors and admissions counselors, and workshops and group presentations, participants will learn about job responsibilities, communication in the admission/counseling process, recruitment/travel, ethical issues in admissions, financial aid, standardized testing, and advancing through the profession. Networking, through both formal and informal gatherings, is another critical component of the Summer Institute experience.


 Summer Institute 2018 will take place Monday, July 23, through noon on Thursday, July 26, 2018 on the campus of the Providence College in Providence, RI.  Registration opens in March!

 Cost of Attendance

 The cost of Summer Institute 2018 is $525 for NEACAC members, $575 for non-members and included accommodations (double occupancy), meals (with the exception of Tuesday dinner) and Summer Institute materials.

 2018 Faculty Members

 Faculty members and guest speakers include a dynamic collection of experienced college counseling and admission professionals from throughout New England:


 Chrissy Cerenzia, Chair, St. George's School, RI

Matt Maurano, Chair-Elect, Providence College, RI


 Lawrence Alexander, White Mountain School, NH

Tina Berardi, Salve Regina University, RI

Shamika Cameron, Roger Williams University, RI

Erin Earle, University of Rhode Island, RI

Maggie Farnsworth, Phillips Andover Academy, MA

Carly Hanson, Academy of Our Lady of Mercy Lauralton Hall, CT

Tim Kelly, Northeastern University, MA

Laurie Nelson, Moses Brown School, RI

Jami Silver, Kingswood-Oxford School, CT

Diane Soboski, College of the Holy Cross, MA

Jonathan Scully, American International College, MA

Luigi Solla, Wesleyan University, CT

Becky Tynan, Yale University, CT

Tim Whittum, Southern New Hampshire University, NH

Darius Haghighat, Boston University, MA (Fellow)

Valentina Rojas, Saint Michael's College, VT (Fellow)


For further inquiries about Summer Institute please contact Caroline Dana, Executive Administrator NEACAC, at or at (603) 367-3292.