The IDEA Committee

Mission Statement

The IDEA (Inclusion, Diversity, Education, and Access) Committee provides leadership to ensure that issues of cultural and ethnic diversity remain at the forefront in the thoughts and actions of NEACAC members and the greater educational community. Seeking to be the voice of diversity in all of its many forms within the NEACAC organization, the IDEA committee works hard to ensure that underrepresented people, both within the membership and in the college-bound population with whom we work, have voices that are heard by the larger membership. The IDEA Committee strives to be a catalyst - heightening awareness, consciousness and sensitivity to the issues of culture, ethnicity, socio-economic status, human rights, gender, sexual orientation, age and other differences. The IDEA Committee serves as the communicator, spokesperson and advocate for personal and cultural issues affecting our profession, and the health and wellness of our membership.

Anti-Racism Resources Available for NEACAC Members

Over the course of the last few weeks, many of us have joined in deeper conversation about systemic racism in this country. Practicing anti-racism work requires a set of skills that must be continually built upon. Answering the call to action put forth by IDEA Committee Chair, Sharonda Dailey, the committee compiled an Anti-Racism Resource document for our members.  The resources included represent a wide range of sources for our members to explore and build upon their commitment to learning and growth. This is a "living" document that we will update periodically. 

Frequently Asked Questions- College Search and Application Process

The 2021 Annual Meeting & Conference community service project is now complete! Over the last several months, approximately 30 NEACAC members have been collaborating to create FAQ videos in English and Spanish that respond to common questions about the college search, admissions, and financial aid processes. These videos are now available on the NEACAC YouTube channel so that students, families, and counselors throughout the region may access important information on demand.  

Please visit this website for more information! We invite our Members to share this information with their students or anyone who may benefit from this information. 

IDEA Committee

Sharonda Daily


 Sharonda Dailey Thompson - Committee Chair
 [email protected]



Committee Members:

Danie Abbatello, University of Southern Maine
Emily Abelson, The Frederick Gunn School
Carole Bird, Hamden Hall Country Day School
Kim Bornstein, University of Connecticut
Christopher Charron, Bishop Feehan High School
Amy Chung, Boston College
Cindy Córdova, Boston College
Mark Donnelly, Northeastern University
Shanell Cartagena Dopson, Assumption University
Lisa Ellrich, University of Maine at Farmington
Declan Foley, St. John's Preparatory School
Anthony Franco, St. George's School
Diana Gingles, Providence College
Ali Hennessey, Northeastern University
Riley Hopkins, Wellesley College
Geovanny Interiano, Worcester Polytech Institute
Sebastian Ivory, Wesleyan University
Kashema Jennings, East Granby Public Schools
Kyler Jesanis, Roger Williams University
Josh Kellogg, University of New Hampshire

Brenna Kelly, Brooks School
Adam Kendis, Wooster School

Courtney Kipp, Greenwich Country Day School
Ashley LaCavalla, Match Public Charter High School
Julia Lauzier, University of Massachusetts Amherst
Amber Li, AmberEd, LLC
Brooke Libby, Gould Academy
Jobita Mao, Salem State University
Moira McKinnon, Berwick Academy
Luckson Omoaregba, College Visions 
Ryan Patten, Colby-Sawyer University
Katie Phung, Bryant University
Brooke, Porter-Jordan, Assumption University
Matthew Rosen, Wilton High School
Jami Silver, Kingswood Oxford School
Karissa Smith, Northwestern CT Community College
Jed Stuart, Loomis Chaffee
Rachael Tampone, Merrimack College
Jill Teeters, The Derryfield School
Danielle Walsh, Clark University
Ashley Willis, Merrimack College


IDEA Sub-Committees

The IDEA Committee is made up of several Sub-Committees. Click on the links below to learn more about each one! 

Annual Meeting & Conference Session Proposal Sub-Committee

Anti-Racism Initiatives Sub-Committee

Essay Writing Contest Sub-Committee

Inclusive Policies and Practices Sub-Committee

Make a Difference Fund Sub-Committee

Margaret Addis Memorial Scholar Program Sub-Committee

Interested in joining a sub-committee? Click here to find out how to get involved with this important Mission!

NEACAC College Access and Success Listserv (CASL)

The NEACAC College Access and Success Listserv (CASL) provides a single platform to share information and ideas with other professionals working with students in the New England region on the college search and application process. For more information, or to join the Listserv, please click here.